Welcome to the fourth of ten blog posts that collectively will highlight over 50 authors. What is SFFWA? It’s a group of Sci-Fi and Fantasy Women Authors. This all came about when I asked myself if it was possible to have a giveaway that featured all women who write within the SFF community. You’re about to see just how possible that is, coming August 1st*.

A few ways you can show your support:

  1. Follow them on social media. Clicking the books below will take you to their Goodreads page where you’ll find their twitter.
  2. Sign-up to their newsletter from their website also found on their Goodreads page.
  3. Buy their book(s). Read their book(s). Then leave a review. Some even have their book(s) listed on Kindle Unlimited.

Previous Spotlight Weeks


Sky Keeper
by S.M. Gaither

Welcome to the World Below, where the keepers command the sky, but the commander of the keepers controls the empire…

For centuries, the four kingdoms of the Caspian empire have remained safe and hidden below the ocean, protected from the Surface World—and from that ocean that separates them—by a great barrier maintained by magic.

Aven Talavir has spent her entire life learning to be a keeper of that barrier, channeling her powers into maintaining and healing it.

But now an impossibly sinister force seeks to shatter it.

To stop the looming flood of destruction, Aven picks up her knives and sets off on a quest to find an ancient power that may be able to permanently heal the makeshift sky. Reaching it will mean fighting her way through dangerous politics and deadly magic, all while finding love and friendship in unexpected places—

Only to realize that the greatest treachery may not lie in the breaking sky, but in the very hearts of the people around her.

The perfect next read for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Tamora Pierce, and Megan Whalen Turner. If you enjoy strong female leads, swoon-worthy romance, feisty mythical creatures, and unique magic systems, then scroll up and grab the first book of this trilogy today!


Winter Wren
by Miranda Honfleur

A mage apprentice and her master… Against three hundred mercenaries sieging a town.

Seventeen-year-old mage apprentice Rielle accompanies her master, Leigh, on a mission to save a viscount from a town under mercenary control. But mercenaries aren’t the only newcomers to town. When the mission goes awry, Rielle must choose whether to follow her orders or follow her conscience.

“Winter Wren” is a sword-and-sorcery short story, a prequel to the romantic epic-fantasy series Blade & Rose.


Pick Pocket
by Celine Jeanjean

Letting someone get close can be dangerous…

Rory is a starveling, barely carving a survival for herself on the docks. And then Daria, older, brash, full of life, barrels into her world. She’s a talented pickpocket, but she needs someone to team up with. Mesmerised by Dasia’s charisma, Rory accepts.

The two girls make an awesome pickpocketing duo, and for the first time in her life, Rory has a real friend and dreams for the future beyond survival. But Daria has a secret. A secret that Rory soon realises could destroy everything. 

As she tries to get Daria out, Rory learns the true cost of letting someone get close. 

The Pickpocket is the prequel to The Viper and the Urchin, a compelling, character-driven series, full of quirky characters, heart and humour, set in a richly-imagined world.


Birth of the Bacchae
by Stephanie Mirro

“Vampires, Immortals, Bacchae—they’re all the same. The name may change, but their appetites never do.”

Ever since archaeology student Serafina Finch found an ancient Roman amulet on a dig in Italy, she’s been having dreams. Strange dreams that leave her with an eerie sense of foreboding. But between a busy college schedule and a boyfriend she’s hoping to marry, she doesn’t have time for strange.

Then a mysterious cult takes an obsessive interest in the artifact. Serafina finds her life in chaos as she’s thrown into the supernatural world, where Immortals and witches alike claim ownership of the amulet. Her amulet.

As her connection to the amulet grows, she discovers a dark secret about her past. Serafina realizes she must protect the powerful relic at all costs–even if it means losing one of the people she loves most.

“Invisible. Powerful. Immortal. We are Bacchae.”

BIRTH OF THE BACCHAE is a New Adult Urban Fantasy novel exploring the origins of vampire lore in a modern setting. Where do the stories come from? How were vampires created? Do they still exist today?


Gatebreaker
by Michelle Wilson

“Tell us how we get back home.”
“You don’t. There’s no way to go back.”

What started as a pleasant hiking trip turns into the adventure of a lifetime for Lydia and her friends. It’s an adventure they never expected. After walking through a magical gateway, they arrive in the world of Adylra. Navigating this new world becomes difficult when they get pulled into events they don’t understand.

While her friends search for a way back home, Lydia tries to hide the growing power inside her. She doesn’t know who she can trust, her friends from home, or the new friend she finds in Aidric, Prince of the Kingdom of Thavell. As she struggles to keep her growing powers under control, she realizes she may be the reason they arrived here. And she may be the reason they can’t get back home.

Join Lydia and her friends as they embark on their adventures in Adylra. Buy Gatebreaker now.

Categories: SFFWA

E.L. Drayton

E.L. Drayton was born and raised in Bronx, NY. As the daughter of a former high school English teacher, she was taught how to read and write before she even started formal schooling. She picked up reading quickly and could understand books well beyond her age. Later, her passion for writing came as no surprise. Ever since she has spent countless years building a library of books from all sorts of authors. Each book improving her writing along the way. Her decision to become an independent author was her destiny. Currently, she's working on her own universe, Stonehaven, with many books planned. There's also a planned illustrated novel series called Twin Crossing. She resides in Los Angeles with her wife and their two puppies.