Today, well actually last night, I started reading my very first self-published book! I’m almost embarrassed to admit I have never read a book that was self-published before. I have only ever read bestsellers and authors I’ve grown to know and love. I want to change that! And I’ve put in place a way for me to do that, through reading as many of the top 10 books from the last 4 years of SPFBO. You can see who those top 40 authors/books are HERE. I have also put together a Review Policy page you might want to check out to know what you can expect in terms of ratings and what exactly I’ll be reviewing.

In the meantime, I have selected the first book I’ll be reading. I likely won’t be making a grand announcement like this with books I read after this one, but as it’s my first, I wanted to make it extra special. I will do as I have seen other book bloggers do, and create a Master Page that will list upcoming reads and/or months where I have nothing lined up. As I’m also busy writing words for my own work I can’t guarantee I’ll have as much time as others might to dedicate to reading, but I’ll do my level best. And now, onto my first selection!

From Amazon:

Top 10 Finalist in Mark Lawrence’s SPFBO 2018


Sable hated the gods. She hated what men did in their name.
 

Magic is forbidden throughout the Five Provinces; those born with it are hunted and killed. Sable doesn’t know her music holds power over souls–not until, at age nine, she plays her flute before the desert court and accidentally stops her baby sister’s heart, killing her. Horrified by what she’s done and fearing for her life, she flees north, out of Provincial jurisdiction and into the frigid land of exiles and thieves, known as The Wilds. There, Sable lives in hiding, burdened by guilt, and survives as a healer. But now, ten years later, someone–or something–is hunting her. 

On the run again, Sable’s best chance for survival is Jos, a lethal man from the Five Provinces, who claims to need her skills as a healer to save his dying father, and she needs the large sum of money he’s offered. There’s something about him Sable doesn’t trust, but she doesn’t have many options. A spirit of the dead is hunting her, summoned by a mysterious necromancer, and it’s getting closer. 

Sable soon discovers she’s just the start of the necromancer’s plan to take over the Five Provinces, and she’s the only one with the power to stop it. But harnessing her forbidden power means revealing it to the world, and the dangerous Provincial, Jos, she’s beginning to fall for. 

Fans of Brandon Sanderson, Naomi Novik, and Victoria Schwab will love this dark and epic fantasy adventure.

I was not sent this book, nor was I asked to review this book.
There are affiliate links on this page.